Hi I’m Tricia

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  yanika 6 years, 12 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

tmknell
    Participant

Well I am a single mom and a student. I am studying psychology. The pets that I have in my home are 1 dog – and english pointer named Molly, 4 cats – 2 orange tabbies Athena and Princess, 1 calico tabby mix named Chere, and 1 black/grey tiger striped tabby named Angel, 2 firebelly toads – Elmo and Bob, and 2 guinea pigs – Snickers and Rodney.

Snickers is our newest member of our family and I just rescued him last night. His story just makes me so angry that anyone can treat such a sweet piggie so horridly. He is currently in quarantine until he can see the vet tomorrow.

Rodney is 5 weeks old and didn’t adjust so well from being taken away from mommy so we got Snickers to be his adopted brother. When they met they acted like long lost friends. I think they are going to be very happy together once Snickers is feeling better.

Molly, a 6 year old English Pointer/Jack Russel mix, was the first pet I let my kids have once they had proven that they were ready. Molly was also a rescue. The couple that had her, complained that she was a horrible dog that never listened to them and was beaten quite horribly for her transgressions. I offered to take Molly off their hands for a small fee and they quite happily gave her up. When she came to our home she was quite withdrawn and skittish. However, it just took a few short weeks of consistent love, kindness, and stern obedience training before she was a perfectly well behaved, happy, and outgoing pet. Plus her hunting skills have come to be quite useful when my ten year old autistic daughter gets the urge to roam and wanders away from the house. Molly thinks that the command “find Kila” is an exciting game of hide and seek for which she is rewarded generously when Kila is found.